Trophy Club

Trophy Club is an affluent northern suburb of the Dallas-Fort Worth Metroplex. It is Texas’ first premiere planned community, built around the only golf course designed by Ben Hogan. The Trophy Club Country Club features two, 18-hole premiere golf courses. Trophy Club residents enjoy miles of planned pathways, beautiful road medians, and over 1,000 acres of parks. It is partially located in both Denton and Tarrant Counties. It has been acknowledged multiple times by D Magazine as one of the best places to live in the Dallas–Fort Worth area.

The community was developed in 1973 by developers Johnson and Loggins, who created the community as a housing development surrounding the country club. The town was named for the original plan that the country club would house the trophy collections of golf legend Ben Hogan, who designed the golf course. Originally part of Westlake, the town incorporated in 1985.

The town is located on the far southwestern edge of Lake Grapevine and has a total area of 4.1 square miles. As of the 2010 census, there were 8,024 people, 3,072 households, and 2,893 families residing in the town. The racial makeup of the town was 91.3% White, 1.9% African American, 0.5% Native American, 3.5% Asian, and 1.4% other races from two or more races.

Of the 3,072 households, 38.2% had children under the age of 18 living with them, 73.6% were married couples living together, 6.0% had a female householder with no husband present, and 18.0% were non-families. 4.8% had someone living alone who was 65 years of age or older. The average household size was 2.74 and the average family size was 3.05.

In 2010, the town the population was spread out with 28.8% under the age of 19, 2.8% from 20 to 24, 23.8% from 25 to 44, 33.4% from 45 to 64, and 11.3% who were 65 years of age or older. The median age was 42 years. For every 100 females, there were 101.1 males.

In 2010, the median income for a household in the town was $116,042. About 0.4% of the population were below the poverty line.

Trophy Club is governed by a council-manager form of government. The Council consists of seven members: the Mayor and six council members, with the Mayor serving as presiding officer over Council meetings. Council members are elected at-large-by-place for a term of three years. All powers of the Town are vested in the Council, including but not limited to: enacting legislation, adopting budgets and determining policies.

The Mayor participates in the discussion and votes on all matters coming before the Council. Additionally, the Mayor, after Council authorization, signs all contracts, conveyances made or entered into by the Town, all bonds, warrants and any other obligations issued under the Town Charter. The Mayor is recognized as the official head of the Town by the courts for the purpose of serving civil process, by the Governor for the purpose of enforcing military law and for all ceremonial purposes.

The Town Council has authority to appoint and remove the Town Manager. The Town Manager acts as the chief administrative officer of the Town and is responsible to the Council for the proper administration of all the affairs of the Town. In addition to the Town Manager, the Council also appoints the Town Attorney and the Town Secretary who acts as secretary to the Council.
Schools are operated by the Northwest Independent School District. The schools are Lakeview Elementary, Samuel Beck Elementary, Medlin Middle School, and Byron Nelson High School.

Additional Helpful Links:

Town of Trophy Club –

Northwest ISD –

Demographics –